Skip to content
All briefs

Daily intelligence brief

Suno has specified monthly song-download limits for paid plans from September 3, separating generation capacity from exportable, commercially usable output.

Report date
Aug 11, 2026
Status
published

Suno sets monthly song-download caps as export rights move behind subscription controls

Research report date: 11 August 2026

DAOrecords Signal publication: 11 August 2026 at 06:50:00 UTC

Coverage status: One 24–72-hour recovery record

Factual reporting

DAOR-SIGNAL-20260811-001 — Suno specifies monthly download limits for paid plans

Recovery lane: Suno's first-party documents are dated August 10, 2026. This record is being published inside the expanded 72-hour eligibility window and is not presented as a strict 0–24-hour event.

Suno has converted its previously announced download-policy change into specific plan-level limits that begin September 3, 2026.

The company's public pricing page now states that Pro subscribers receive 20 song downloads per month and Premier subscribers receive 60. The Free plan lists no recurring monthly song downloads from the same date. The paid tiers continue to advertise commercial-use rights for new songs made while subscribed.

Suno's revised Terms of Service are dated August 10 and take effect September 3. They tie the number of permitted downloads to the user's service tier and preserve contractual conditions governing output use and commercial exploitation.

The public pricing page does not state that Free users receive seven lifetime downloads. That figure has appeared in user notices and secondary reporting, but it is not treated as a confirmed term in this record.

Why it matters

The policy separates generation capacity from export capacity. Credits may allow a user to create many versions inside Suno, while the subscription tier controls how many finished songs can leave the platform through the official download workflow.

For creators, labels and distributors, that makes several facts operationally important: the plan in force, the creation date, the download date, whether the export used an authorized download allowance, and whether commercial-use rights attached when the song was created.

The change also supplies a concrete implementation detail missing from Suno's August 6 announcement, which said download restrictions were coming but did not specify the paid-tier limits.

DAOrecords analysis

DAOrecords should record Suno subscription and export evidence as part of release preflight for any Suno-derived asset. The evidence bundle should preserve:

  • service tier at creation and download;
  • model and product version;
  • generation and official download timestamps;
  • monthly allowance and policy version;
  • prompts and uploaded source assets;
  • proof that commercial-use rights attached to the output;
  • asset hash and downstream edits;
  • distributor and DSP disclosure fields;
  • provenance, watermark or fingerprint results;
  • any exception, enforcement or appeal record.

An authorized Suno download or paid-plan commercial-use grant does not independently establish copyright ownership, lawful training, voice or likeness consent, sample clearance, distributor eligibility, chart eligibility or royalty entitlement.

Signals we're watching

Free-plan lifetime allowance

Some notices and secondary reports describe a seven-download lifetime allowance for Free users. Status: hold until the allowance is preserved in a canonical Suno page, help article or authenticated notice that can be cited directly.

Attribution and royalty-accounting infrastructure

An August 10 Music Business Worldwide analysis argues that AI-generated and AI-assisted music will strain existing attribution, accounting and payment systems. It is strongly aligned with DAOrecords but analyzes known conditions rather than reporting a new policy, product, agreement, filing or implementation. Status: editorial near-miss, not a canonical Signal event.

Assessment

RecordLaneImpactConfidenceCore subject
DAOR-SIGNAL-20260811-00124–72h recoveryHighHighSuno download limits, commercial-use controls and release evidence

Daily synthesis

Suno's new limits turn a general anti-abuse announcement into an operational platform rule. Generation volume and exportable inventory are now visibly different resources, with commercially usable downloads governed by plan status and monthly allowance.

DAOrecords should treat the official export event as part of a release's rights and provenance trail. Capturing the applicable tier, policy version and download evidence will help distinguish a generated draft from an asset that was exported under the provider's stated commercial conditions.

Machine-readable evidence layer

Linked Signal records

Factual reporting, source status, limitations, industry impact, and DAOrecords analysis remain separately represented.

DAOR-SIGNAL-20260811-001Confirmed

Suno specifies monthly song-download limits for paid plans

Verified

Aug 11, 2026

Jurisdiction

Global

Impact: HighConfidence: High

Factual summary

Suno has specified monthly song-download limits beginning September 3, 2026: 20 downloads for Pro subscribers and 60 for Premier subscribers, while the Free plan lists no recurring monthly song downloads. Paid plans continue to advertise commercial-use rights for new songs made while subscribed.

Music-industry impact

The policy separates generation capacity from export capacity and makes subscription tier, creation date, download date and authorized-download status material release-administration facts for AI-generated music entering distribution.

DAOrecords analysis

DAOrecords should preserve the Suno service tier, policy version, creation and download timestamps, official export evidence, commercial-use basis, asset hash, downstream edits and distributor disclosures for every Suno-derived release.

Source classification

Official Statement

Limitations

  • Suno's first-party pages are dated August 10, 2026 but do not expose a supported exact publication time; midnight UTC is a conservative schema normalization and not the actual publication time.
  • This record is published through the expanded 24-to-72-hour recovery lane and is not presented as a strict-window event.
  • The public pricing page says the Free plan has no monthly song downloads; it does not confirm the seven-lifetime-download figure reported elsewhere.
  • The reviewed materials do not establish how Suno will count re-downloads, replacement files, stems or failed exports against the allowance.
  • A paid-plan commercial-use grant or authorized download does not independently establish copyright ownership, lawful training, sample clearance, voice or likeness consent, distributor eligibility, chart eligibility or royalty entitlement.